BEAUFORT, SOUTH CAROLINA VISITOR CENTER
Stop into Beaufort’s Visitor Center at 713 Craven Street in downtown and see all that the Beaufort, SC Port Royal and the Sea Islands Visitor Bureau has to offer in local information. Browse the many displays and collect information on specific locales in the Beaufort area. Also of great use is an interactive touch-screen guide.
BEAUFORT TOURS, LLC
Journey to movie locations in and around Beaufort, SC that will bring back fond memories of great movies you love. Forrest Gump, Prince of Tides, Great Santini, The Big Chill and many more. Air-conditioned tour van. Visit here for tickets.
SEA ISLAND CARRIAGE COMPANY
ADDRESS: 930 Bay Street, Beaufort, SC
PHONE: (843) 476-7789
Daily horse-drawn carriage tours throughout downtown Beaufort’s
A TASTE OF THE LOWCOUNTRY
ADDRESS: 310 West Street, Beaufort SC
PHONE: (843) 441-7923
Taste the southern flavor of Beaufort on a 2 1/2 hour guided tour of the
city’s culinary delights in historic downtown Beaufort.
Janet’s Walking History Tour
Hear the 500 year story of Beaufort in this 2+ hour walking tour through the National Historic
District during a leisurely 2 mile stroll amidst some of the finest antebellum homes in America.
Tours are year round..and are LOTS of fun!
PHONE: (843) 226-4412
The Spirit of Old Beaufort
Offering a Historic Walking Tour and an evening Lantern Tour, guides in period dress sing songs
during the day, and tell ghost stories and visit graves by night. Day 1 3/4 hrs, Night 1 1/2 hrs
ADDRESS: 1001 Bay Street, Beaufort, SC
PHONE: (843) 525-0459
Beaufort Walking Tours
Beaufort Walking Tours offers a Haunted History Walk, a ‘Beaufort Walk’ through the Historic District,
and a Hollywood Film Sites Stroll. Available year-round, off-season by appointment.
PHONE: (843) 476-5100
Beaufort Running Tour
Beaufort running tour offers a comfortably paced run with multiple stops that allows runners of all levels to see and learn about one of the South’s most historic and charming towns in a fun and adventurous way. Regular tours are available most Fridays through Sundays. Tours Monday through Thursday and private tours over the weekend are available upon request.
PHONE: (843) 941-3650
Capt. Dick’s Beaufort River Tour & Dolphin Watch
Offers daily tours and evening cruises, ecological tours, as well as other excursions. Docked at Downtown
Marina of Beaufort.
PHONE: (843) 812-2804
Beaufort Kayak Tours
Learn about the unique history of Beaufort as you paddle through the creeks and salt marshes of the Atlantic
Intracoastal Waterway. Fully narrated kayak tours by certified Master Naturalists. No experience necessary.
PHONE: (843) 525-0810
Vintage Voyages Yacht Tours
Scenic afternoon and sunset cruises aboard 1930’s pleasure yacht. Offers scheduled tours and private charters.
PHONE: (855) 266-8533
Beaufort SC Area Attractions & Historical Points of Interest
Old Sheldon Church Ruins
Remains of Prince William’s Parish Church, 1745-1755. The church was burned by the British during the Revolutionary War. It was reconstructed in 1825 and then looted by locals looking for building materials during the Civil War to reconstruct their homes after Sherman’s March. Open daily, year round for self guided tours from dusk til dawn. Located 17 miles North of Beaufort in an isolated area of Sheldon, SC.
Hunting Island Lighthouse
Construction of the Hunting Island Lighthouse started in 1859 and was completed in 1875. The tower was destroyed during the Civil War in 1862. By 1888 it was reported that the Atlantic Ocean’s high tide had reached within 35 feet of the keeper’s house, and the Lighthouse, the keeper’s home and two other structures were relocated a mile away in 1889 to their current location within present-day Hunting Island State Park.
Historic Charlesfort & Santa Elena on Parris Island
Charlesfort was established when a French expedition,led by Jean Ribault landed at the site in Port Royal Sound in 1562. Ribault left twenty-eight men to build a settlement known as Charlesfort, and it was abandoned in one year. Santa Elena was founded by the Spanish in 1566 on the site of Charlesfort and was the first capital of Spanish Florida, until 1587.
Fort Fremont is a Spanish American War fort built in 1899 and deactivated as a military installation in 1921. The complex consisted of almost 170 acres of land with numerous outbuildings, of which only the 10 inch battery, the rapid-fire battery and the brick hospital built in 1906 survive. Placed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1989, the complex is said to be haunted in local Beaufort legend.
The Kazoo Factory
ADDRESS: 12 John Gault Road, Beaufort, SC
PHONE: (843) 982-6387
The Kazoo Factory offers a Kazoo Museum, Factory Tours, a Gift Shop and more. Tour the Kazoo Factory and learn how kazoos are made, imprinted, packaged and shipped all over the world, and make your own to take home.
The John-Mark Verdier House Museum
ADDRESS: 801 Bay Street, Beaufort, SC
PHONE: (843) 379-6335
The Verdier House Museum in Beaufort’s National Historic District is open for tours, Monday thru Saturday, 10am to 4pm. Guided tours are available by appointment. Located at 801 Bay St. For info, call (843) 379-6335 or visit the Historic Beaufort Foundation.
Parish Church of St Helena
ADDRESS: 507 Newcastle Street, Beaufort, SC
PHONE: (843) 522-1712
The Commons House of Assembly, under the Lords Proprietors of Carolina, established St. Helena’s in 1712 as a colonial parish of the Church of England. The church was built in 1724 and is one of the oldest active churches in North America.
Parris Island Museum
ADDRESS: 111 Panama Street, MCRD Parris Island
PHONE (843) 228-2951
The Marine Corps exhibits display artifacts spanning from the turn of the 19th century to the present day. Open daily from 10am – 4:30pm. Explore the long, rich legacy of the Marine Corps, as well as the exciting history of the Port Royal region. Admission is free.
ADDRESS: 16 Penn Center Circle W, St. Helena Island, SC
PHONE: (843) 838-2474
Penn Center was formed as Penn School in 1862, and it was the very first school for freed slaves in the U.S., and is now a Gullah Community Center on St. Helena Island.
Chapel Of Ease
Located along Martin Luther King, Jr. Drive on St. Helena Island, this ruin was built ca. 1740 as a chapel of ease, to serve planters in St. Helena Parish who lived at great distances from the parish church in Beaufort and could not regularly attend services there. There is also local haunted lore about this historic site.